

Comité International des Critiques d'Architecture International Committee of Architectural Critics Comité Internacional de Críticos de Arquitectura

PRESS RELEASE July 3, 2023 CICA Conference Copenhagen 2023

At the first combined in-person and online meeting after the pandemic, the International Committee of Architectural Critics met ahead of the July UIA World Congress of Architecture in Copenhagen, holding a two-day public conference on the theme

Goodbye to Consumer Culture – Learning from the Real World

Keynote lecturers were Horacio Torrent (Chile), Rasmus Wærn (Sweden), Li Xiangning (China) and Ana Tostões (Portugal). The key issue was how architecture needs to move beyond the challenge of sustainability to address the unsatisfied needs of the real world. The time has come to say goodbye to the self-indulgent invention of new styles.

In the closed session, CICA members discussed future activities, debated changes to the organizational structure and elected new members and officers (see list below).

Manuel Cuadra Secretary General

New Members

Hubertus Adam, Zurich Barry Bergdoll, New York Nikolaus Bernau, Berlin Claudia Cabral, Porto Alegre Claes Caldenby, Gothenburg Elias Constantopoulos, Athens Jasna Galjer, Zagreb Nuno Grande, Porto Hélène Jannière, Paris Jin Qiuye, Beijing Morten Birk Jørgensen, Copenhagen Otto Kapfinger, Vienna

Wolfgang Kil, Berlin Michael Kimmelman, New York Esa Laaksonen, Helsinki Niklas Maak, Frankfurt am Main Robert McCarter, St. Louis

Mo Wanli, Shanghai Philipp Oswalt, Kassel

José Manuel Pozo Municio, Pamplona Sebastian Redecke, Berlin

Emmett Scanlon, Dublin Paolo Scrivano, Milano/Berlin Vladimír Šlapeta, Prague Andreas Vass, Vienna Susanna Ventura, Porto Oliver Wainwright, London Laura Weißmüller, Munich

Jaime Solares

Associate Director of Communications

Honorary President Joseph Rykwert, London

President

Wilfried Wang, Berlin

Chair of the Board Louise Noelle Gras, Mexico City

Secretary General

Manuel Cuadra, Frankfurt/Lima

Board of Directors

Li Xiangning, Shanghai Rahul Mehrotra, Mumbai/Boston Yasmin Shariff, London Ruth Verde Zein, São Paulo

Associate Director of Awards

Trenton A. Sexton, Nashville

Associate Director of Media

João Navarrete, São Paulo

Associate Director of Communications Jaime Solares, São Paulo