CICA Dennis Sharp Publications Awards 2020: Winners and Honourable Mentions

CICA presents the winners of the 2020 Book, Exhibition Catalogue, Journalism and Digital Communication Awards.

PRESS Release 5 July 2021

The International Committee of Architectural Critics (CICA) presents the winners of the 2020 Book, Exhibition Catalogue, Journalism and Digital Communication Awards, as they will be announced at the online CICA Symposium to be held in conjunction with the UIA World Congress Rio de Janeiro 2021 on 19 July 2021 at 10:00 a.m. Rio de Janeiro time

Zoom link:, Meeting ID: 917 9214 3300

The award ceremony is free and open to the public, places are limited to 300.

Given the very large number of submissions in all categories, the Jury decided to recognize the outstanding quality with a larger number of prizes and honourable mentions than in the previous awards.

CICA Bruno Zevi Book Awards 2020


Barsac, Jacques
Charlotte Perriand: Complete Works, Volume 4, 1968- 1999
Scheidegger & Spiess, Zurich 2019.

Carpo, Mario
The Second Digital Turn: Design Beyond Intelligence
MIT Press, Cambridge 2017.

Zein, Ruth Verde
Critical Readings
Romano Guerra and Nhamerica Press, Sao Paulo-Austin 2019.


Berger, Alan; Kotkin, Joel; Balderas-Guzmán, Celina (eds.)
Infinite Suburbia
Princeton Architectural Press, Princeton 2017.

Blau, Eve; Rupnik, Ivan
Baku: Oil and Urbanism
Park Books, Zurich 2019.

Eigen, Edward
On Accident: Episodes in Architecture and Landscape
MIT Press, Cambridge 2018.

Vassalo, Jesus
Epics in the Everyday: Photography, Architecture, and the Problem of Realism
Park Books, Zurich 2020.

CICA Julius Posener Exhibition Catalogue Award 2020


Vrachliotis, Georg; Kleinmanns, Joachim; Kunz, Martin; Kurz, Philip (eds.)
Frei Otto: Thinking by Modeling,
Spector Books, Leipzig, 2017.


Alonso, Pedro Ignacio; Palmarola, Hugo (eds.)
Flying Panels: How Concrete Panels Changed the World
ArkDes, Stockholm, 2019.

López Manzanares, Juan Ángel; Fraile, María
Rafael Moneo, Una reflexión teórica desde la profesión – Materiales de archivo (1961- 2016)

CICA Pierre Vago Journalism Award 2020


Iturbe, Elisa
Architecture and the Death of Carbon Modernity
Log #47, Anyone Corporation, New York 2019.

Ho, Miriam; Jones, Ruth; O’Carroll, Aisling (eds.)
Deviant Devices
SITE #40, The Site Magazine, Toronto 2019.

O’Toole, Shane
Identity Check
Architectural Review, EMAP Publishing Ltd., London 2019.

Tuomey, John
Bringing Heaven Down to Earth: Reading the Plan of Ronchamp
arq: Architectural Research Quarterly, Vol. 23, Issue 1, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge 2019.


Ciarkowski, Blażej
Holidays with Totalitarianisms

Herito #29, International Cultural Centre, Kraków 2017.

Kamin, Blair
An Incredible Transformation? Not Really
Chicago Tribune, Tribune Publishing, Chicago 2018.

Kimmelman, Michael
Is This the Neighborhood New York Deserves?
The New York Times, The New York Times Company, New York 2019.

Knight, Christopher
An Open Letter to LACMA Architect Peter Zumthor: Stop Dissing L.A.’s Art
Los Angeles Times, California Times Publication, Los Angeles 2019

Mollard, Manon
Form Follows Failure
Architectural Review, EMAP Publishing Ltd., London 2019.

Mrduljaš, Maroje
Between Ecology and Spectacle
Oris #117, Oris House for Architecture, Zagreb 2020.

Murphy, Jack
Hyperreferential Architecture
Paprika!, Yale School of Architecture, New Haven 2019.

CICA Marina Waisman Digital Communication Awards 2020


Casciato, Maristella; Fox, Gary; Rochester, Katherine
Bauhaus: Building the New Artist, The Getty Research Institute ne w_artist/

Chatzi Chousein, Berrin (ed.)
World Architecture Community Two Honourable Mentions:


Morley, Jack B. (ed.)
The Architect’s Newspaper

Mosco, Valerio Paolo; Scelsi, Valter; Ferrando, Davide T.

The International Jury

Wilfried Wang (Chair, Germany/USA)
Fernando Diez (Argentina)
Karen Eicker (South Africa)
Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico)
Süha Özkan (Turkey)
Xing Ruan (China, Australia)
Joseph Rykwert (USA/UK)

Jury Assistant
Trenton A. Sexton (USA)

Berlin/Mexico City, July 2021

Joseph Rykwert

Louise Noelle Gras

Secretary General
Manuel Cuadra

François Chaslin, Manuel Cuadra, Louise Noelle Gras, Süha Özkan and Yasmin Shariff.

CICA c/o Universität Kassel Fachbereich 6
ASL Lehrstuhl Prof. Cuadra
Henschelstrasse 2 D-34109 Kassel Germany


The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA has, since it was established in Mexico City in 1978, been closely associated with the World Congresses of the International Union of Architects.

The inaugural meeting of CICA was held in the Joan Miró Foundation in July 1979 when Prof. Bruno Zevi (Rome) was elected the first CICA President with Jorge Glusberg (Argentina), Julius Posener (Germany), Dennis Sharp (UK) and Pierre Vago (France) as Directors.

The current President is Joseph Rykwert and CICA Board Members are François Chaslin (F), Manuel Cuadra (Germany), Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico), Süha Özkan (Turkey), and Yasmin Shariff (UK).

CICA has held critical sessions since, in Warsaw, Cairo, Brighton, Rome, Vienna, Sydney, Barcelona, Istanbul, Paris, New York, London, Gelsen- kirchen, Beijing, Berlin, Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Sofia, Kuwait, Vancouver, Torino, Tokyo, Durban and Seoul.

0 comments on “CICA Dennis Sharp Publications Awards 2020: Winners and Honourable Mentions

Deja un comentario

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: