CICA Awards 2017: Shortlist

The International Committee of Architectural Critics (CICA) presents its shortlist of titles for the 2017 Book, Exhibition Catalogue and Journalism Awards.

The International Committee of Architectural Critics (CICA) presents its shortlist of titles for the 2017 Book, Exhibition Catalogue and Journalism Awards.

Photo: Patrik Göthe / Unsplash

The winners are going to be announced within the UIA World Congress Seoul 2017 at the CICA Symposium held on 4 September from 15:00 to 18:00 hours.

The Awards fall into the following three categories:

CICA Bruno Zevi Book Award 2017

Abel, Chris: The Extended Self – Architecture, Memes and Minds, Manchester University Press, Manchester 2015.

Curtis, William J.R.: Le Corbusier – Ideas and Forms, second edition, Phaidon, London 2015.

Liscombe, Rhodri Windsor; Sabatino, Michelangelo: Canada – Modern Architectures in History, Reaktion Books, London 2016.

Pérez Moreno, Lucía C.: Fullaondo y la revista Nueva Forma, Fundación Museo Jorge Oteiza Fundazio Museoa, Alzuza 2015.

Tavares, André: The Anatomy of the Architectural Book, Canadian Centre for Architecture, Lars Müller Publishers, Zürich 2016.

Xue, Charlie Q.L.: Hong Kong Architecture 1945-2015 – From Colonial to Global, Springer, Singapore 2016.

CICA Julius Posener Exhibition Catalogue Award 2017

Baptista, Luís Santiago (ed.): Arquitetura em concurso – Percurso Crítico pela Modernidade Portuguesa, Dafne Editora, Porto 2016.

Çiçekoğlu, Feride (ed.): Darzanà – Two Arsenals, One Vessel, 15th International Architecture Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia, Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts, Istanbul 2016.

Hoidn, Barbara (ed.): Demo:Polis – The Right to Public Space, Akademie der Künste – Berlin, The University of Texas at Austin – School of Architecture, Park Books, Zürich 2016.

Sequeira, Marta; Rato, Susana (eds.): Carrilho da Graça: Lisbon, Dafne Editora, Porto 2015.

CICA Pierre Vago Journalism Award 2017

Abel, Chris: Architecture and Identity – Responses to Cultural and Technological Change, third edition, Routledge, Oxon, New York 2017.

Artemel, A.J.P.; LeStourgeon, Russel; de la Selle, Violette: Quote*, Perspecta # 49, The Yale Architectural Journal, MIT Press, Cambridge, MA 2016.

Chousein, Berrin Chatzi: Why Architectural Criticism is not so Mundane, in: World Architecture Community –, 2015.

Curtis, William J.R.: RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes – Themes and Variations, in: architecture + urbanism a+u # 549, June 2016.

Guerra, Abilio: Architecture and Nature, Romano Guerra Editora, São Paulo 2016.

O’Toole, Shane: One Hundred & One Hosannas for Architecture, Gandon Editions, Dublin 2017.

Waern, Rasmus: Outrage, in: The Architectural Review AR, June 2016.

The International Jury

Joseph Rykwert (USA/UK)
Manuel Cuadra (Germany)
Sengül Gür (Turkey)
Xiangning Li (China)
Louise Noelle (Mexico)



The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA has, since it was established in Mexico City in 1978, been closely associated with the World Congresses of the International Union of Architects.

The inaugural meeting of CICA was held in the Joan Miró Foundation in July 1979 when Prof. Bruno Zevi (Rome) was elected the first CICA President with Jorge Glusberg (Argentina), Julius Posener (Germany), Dennis Sharp (UK) and Pierre Vago (France) as Directors.

The current President is Joseph Rykwert and CICA Board Members are François Chaslin (F), Manuel Cuadra (Germany), Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico), Süha Özkan (Turkey), and Yasmin Shariff (UK).

CICA has held critical sessions since, in Warsaw, Cairo, Brighton, Rome, Vienna, Sydney, Barcelona, Istanbul, Paris, New York, London, Gelsen­kirchen, Beijing, Berlin, Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Kuwait, Vancouver, Torino, Tokyo, and Durban.



0 comments on “CICA Awards 2017: Shortlist

Deja un comentario

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: